SOS

Shane O'Sullivan's technical blog… really ties the room together

Flickr Addict v0.1.9 released on Palm App Catalog

Posted by Shane O'Sullivan on January 8, 2010

The latest version of Flickr Addict is now available on the Palm App Catalog!  This is a huge upgrade which I blogged about a short while ago when I submitted it for review.  Check out the video below to see what it can do.  If you would like to try it out before you buy it, the free version, called Flickr Addict Lite, is also available on the Palm App Catalog.  Enjoy!

11 Responses to “Flickr Addict v0.1.9 released on Palm App Catalog”

  1. cara said

    Is this actually in the app catalog now? I’ve looked for it but I don’t see it anywhere.

  2. Yes, both Flickr Addict and Flickr Addict Lite are in the App Catalog. Flickr Addict is a paid for app, and Flickr Addict Lite is free, so if you’re in the USA you’ll see both. If you’re outside the USA you’ll only see Flickr Addict Lite.

    Shane

  3. Tom Spine said

    Yes, I just checked my updates, and Flickr Addict v0.1.9 was available. I just downloaded it, and am very happy with the improvements, Shane. The new gallery is very nice, and what I most like is the ability to download a random selection from a Flickr user account. Just what I wanted. Thank you.

    Flickr Addict rocks!

    –Tom

  4. Hi Tom,

    Glad you like it. Feel free to write your thoughts in a review ;-)

    Shane

  5. Nick said

    Hi Shane,

    Thanks for the update! I’m glad to see it finally hit the App Catalog. I have a question about the random functionality: it doesn’t seem to be all that random! It does download different pictures each time, but it’s heavily weighted to the end of my photostream. I have Flickr Addict set to download 15 pictures, and it never seems to download anything older than the 25-30 (or so) most recent pictures. Any ideas?

    Thanks,
    Nick

  6. Hi Nick,

    Unfortunately the Flickr API (set of tools they provide) don’t support randomness, so it’s not truly random. It just downloads a multiple of how many it needs, and randomly chooses from them. This means that if you have hundreds of photos in your stream, it won’t access them all. It works much better when you’ve chosen a set.

    Others have mentioned this too however, and I’ve already implemented a small fix so that it will use a larger set of data. Still, I have to weigh performance against true randomness – it’s not really feasible to download info on thousands of photos.

    • Nick said

      OK, I see what you are saying. I wonder if you could sort of work around it though… let’s say the user wants 20 photos. You could call flickr.people.getInfo to know how many photos the user has, then randomly pick 20 numbers from that range. Then call flickr.people.getPublicPhotos with per_page=1 and page=random number. Yeah, you’d have to call it 20 times, but I think it would work.

      I guess you would have to use a different method if you’re pulling from a set though?

      • That’s not a bad idea. I would change it however to choose a range randomly for performance reasons. That is, do the first step using per_page=1, then if I need 10 photos for that user, randomly choose a number to start from, and choose 50 photos from that all in one request. Then randomly select 10 from those 50. This would involve only two requests instead of one per photo.

        I’ll see what I can do, a few people have mentioned this.

      • Nick said

        But wouldn’t that just give you 10 closely clustered photos? Yes, they might be older, but they’d still be 10 out of a group of 50 rather than 10 random ones.

        This may be just me, but I set my prefs to download at midnight so I don’t really care if it takes 10 seconds or 10 minutes to download.

        I will stop pestering you now – I don’t mean to tell you how to write your app, after all it is *your* app. :-)

  7. Chris said

    Umm … I posted a comment in an earlier post about a problem but I am using this latest version of Flickr Addict.

    Incidentally, another thought: If Flickr Addict were able to log on to Flickr as me, I assume it would be able to see Sets that are restricted only to contacts. I have some contacts with sets like that.

  8. Hi Chris,

    Yes, if Flickr Addict were able to authenticate the user, it would be able to see the restricted photos. I may put that into an upcoming release, but there’s a few other features I’d like to get in first.

    If you, or anyone else reading this, has any other feature requests, you can use the email button in the Help scene of Flickr Addict.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 533 other followers

