SOS

Shane O'Sullivan's technical blog… really ties the room together

Broadband in Dublin: O2 Admits Defeat

Posted by Shane O'Sullivan on January 13, 2009

I’ve been documenting my issues with broadband in Dublin (Ireland for the geographically challenged) on and off for a while – see here for previous rants.  I’ve been using mobile broadband from O2 for almost a year now, and have seen it get slower and slower as the year progressed.

Now they’ve officially told me to piss off and stop complaining about my pathetic speeds, as they have no intention of fixing the problem.

In November it started averaging about 5kB/s between 5pm and 10pm every weekday and Saturday mornings.  Yes, the same speed that I got back in ’94 when I discovered the wonders of IRC channels and bulletin boards.  I reported this pathetic fact to O2, (see here, here, here, and here , ok so I bugged them..) and they replied that a mast in my area (a few minutes walk from the centre of the capital of our wonderful Knowledge Economy) was being upgraded in November and this would solve all my problems.

This being Ireland, it wasn’t upgraded until the end of December.  My speeds did indeed improve: they now average around 7kB/s.

Upon reporting this to O2, I was sent an email with this single line:

You have been taken off contract, and can cancel your subscription at any time

They simply admitted that if you live in the city centre, they either cannot or will not invest in sufficient infrastructure to overcome the contention issues.  So please piss off and annoy someone else with your talk of “getting what you pay for”.

O2 still continue to advertise the product as a 3 Megabit service.  I have never gotten this speed, and have not gotten over 1Mbit for 6 months.  I am sure something in there is illegal…. any ideas?

P.S.  I’ll of course be cancelling my contract with them very soon.

3 Responses to “Broadband in Dublin: O2 Admits Defeat”

  1. Hi there, You have done a great job. I’ll certainly digg it and personally recommend to my friends.
    I’m confident they’ll be benefited from this web site.

  2. dragon Box said

    What i do not understood is in fact how you are
    now not actually a lot more neatly-liked than you might be
    right now. You are very intelligent. You already know thus significantly relating to this topic, made me in my
    view imagine it from so many numerous angles.

    Its like women and men don’t seem to be involved except it’s something to accomplish with Lady gaga!
    Your personal stuffs great. All the time handle it up!

  3. After I initially commented I seem to have clicked on the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now every time a comment is added I recieve 4 emails with
    the same comment. There has to be a means you can remove me from that service?

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

 
